top of page

abbeo Materials

Application method polymer



Plastics are made in many ways. Granules are usually used, which are melted and then poured into a certain shape. Some plastics are also suitable for spraying or foaming and thus get a large volume with air pockets, which on the one hand can have a heat-insulating effect but also a suction effect (in the case of a sponge). 

masterbatches

If additional chemicals and products are incorporated into the granules of the respective plastic that influence or change the properties of the material (such as abbeo hygiene protection), this is referred to as a masterbatch. 
The chemicals added are usually overdosed as they are calculated on the weight of the finished product. Based on the amount of granules resp. Masterbatch, so the properties of the end article and its chemical content are controlled. 

The masterbatch is then melted and processed accordingly (see below). 

Masterbatche

Extrusion process (injection molding)

Continue-Anlage
Verarbeitungsformen

Tube
profiles
plates
slides

During extrusion, the unprocessed plastic first passes through a funnel into a cylinder in a system called an extruder. There the material is melted, homogenized and compressed. After plasticizing, a screw presses the plastic through a nozzle.  Pipes, sheets, profiles and textile fibers as well as masterbatches are produced by extrusion.

foaming of plastics

Verfahren

A foam is a plastic whose structure is formed by many cells (enclosed cavities, pores). Polyethylene, polystyrene, polyvinyl chloride, polycondensates (phenolic, urea, epoxy, polyester resins) and polyadducts (polyurethanes) are suitable. 
 

  • Chemical foaming processes: Polymerization releases gases that foam the material. E.g. PU foams are formed.

  • Physical blowing processes: First, low-boiling liquids are added to a reaction mixture. These evaporate in the course of the polymerization and form typical gas bubbles. Foam polystyrene, for example, is produced.

  • Mechanical blowing process: A plastic melt is stirred while gas is blown into the melt.

Foamed plastics are used, for example, to make cleaning sponges, mattress fillings, foam rubber, etc. 

If the abbeo hygiene protection products are incorporated into the manufacturing process of the plastic, the item that is ultimately manufactured is protected against bacteria, odors and fungal growth. 

bottom of page

top of page

abbeo Materials

Applikationsverfahren Polymers



Kunststoffe werden auf vielerlei Arten hergestellt. Meist werden dabei Granulate verwendet, welche geschmolzen und dann in eine gewisse Form gegossen werden. Einige Kunststoffe eignen sich auch zum Spritzen oder Schäumen und erhalten so ein grosses Volumen mit Lufteinschlüsssen, was einerseits eine wärmeisolierende- aber auch eine Saugwirkung haben kann (im Falle eines Schwammes). 

Masterbatches

Werden in die Granulate des jeweiligen Kunststoffes noch zusätzlich Chemikalien und Produkte mit eingearbeitet welche die Eigenschaften des Materials beeinflussen oder verändern (wie der abbeo-Hygieneschutz), spricht man von einem Masterbatch. 
Die zugesetzten Chemikalien sind normalerweise überdosiert, da sie auf das Gewicht des fertigen Produktes berechnet werden. Anhand der Menge Granulat resp. Masterbatch, werden so also die Eigenschften des Endartikels und dessen Gehalt an Chemikalien gesteuert. 

Der Masterbatch wird dann geschmolzen und entsprechend verarbeitet (siehe unten). 

Bildschirmfoto 2022-08-10 um 14.17.29.png

Extrusionsverfahen (Spritzguss)

Bildschirmfoto 2022-08-08 um 16.01.13.png
Bildschirmfoto 2022-08-09 um 11.55.40.png

Rohre
Profile
Platten
Folien

Beim Extrudieren gelangt der unverarbeitete Kunststoff in einer Extruder genannten Anlage zunächst durch einen Trichter in einen Zylinder. Dort wird das Material aufgeschmolzen, homogenisiert und verdichtet. Nach dem Plastifizieren presst eine Schnecke den Kunststoff durch eine Düse.  Durch Extrusion werden Rohre, Platten, Profile und Textilfasern sowie Masterbatches hergestellt.

Schäumen von Kunststoffen

Bildschirmfoto 2022-08-09 um 12.05.29.png

Ein Schaumstoff ist ein Kunststoff, dessen Struktur durch viele Zellen (eingeschlossene Hohlräume, Poren) gebildet wird. Es eignen sich Polyethylen, Polystyrol, Polyvinylchlorid, Polykondensate (Phenol-, Harnstoff-, Epoxid-, Polyesterharze) und Polyaddukte (Polyurethane). 
 

  • Chemische Treibverfahren: Durch Polymerisation werden Gase freigesetzt, die das Material aufschäumen. Es entstehen z.B. PU-Schäume.

  • Physikalische Treibverfahren: Zunächst werden einer Reaktionsmischung niedrig siedende Flüssigkeiten zugesetzt. Diese verdampfen im Laufe der Polymerisation und bilden dabei typische Gasblasen. Es entsteht z.B. Schaumpolystyrol.

  • Mechanische Treibverfahren: Eine Kunststoffschmelze wird gerührt während Gas in die Schmelze eingeblasen wird.

Aus geschäumten Kunststoffen werden z.B Putzschwämme, Matratzenfüllungen, Schaumgummi usw. 

Werden die abbeo-Hygieneschutz-Produkte in den Herstellungsprozess des Kunststoffes miteingearbeitet, so ist der letztendlich gefertigte Artikel geschützt gegen Bakterien, Gerüche und Pilzwachstum. 

bottom of page